Joy of Cooking

Awhile back, I blogged about my pursuit of the Joy of Cooking. Then a year passed, during which we decided to change our lives completely, and we were busy with that. Now that things are beginning to settle a little, I want to start trying to learn about food again.

The kids and I sometimes watch cooking shows while folding laundry, including The Barefoot Contessa, Jamie Oliver, Guy Fieri and, most recently, Master Chef, Jr. They all make cooking seem fun, which is my goal … to enjoy cooking.

Since creativity and confidence are built on competence, I decided to put together a one-year self-study plan for myself. (I do better with a basic plan than I do winging it.) So I wrote down 52 basic cooking techniques/skills to learn and practice (one for each week). Then, for each month, I picked two spices to learn about and experiment with; chose a kitchen appliance/gadget to fiddle with; picked one ethnic food to try making; and picked one topic each in the categories of food, nutrition and husbandry to start digging into.

The whole thing fit on three pages, so doesn’t seem daunting at all! If I do an even partly decent job at following it, I may reward myself with some blue dishes at the end of the year. Blue makes food look so interesting.

One-Year Plan-0001One-Year Plan-0002 One-Year Plan-0003

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Joy of Cooking

  1. So exciting!! I highly recommend the online subscription to “America’s Test Kitchen” website. You can watch full episodes online (amazingly interesting), get proven recipes with incredibly detailed directions, as well as find gear reviews (best waffle maker, etc). Cooks Illustrated is another fantastic subscription that is amazing for best kitchen gadget reviews….the difference between the right tool and the wrong tool is usually the difference between frustration/annoyance and joyful excitement.

  2. Meg Constable

    Love it! I’d love to see the rest of the year 😉

  3. I put the other two pages up, Megan — if you click on them, I think they get big so you can read them. Love you!

  4. I’ll check those resources out, Jamie! Also, did we ever thank you for the awesome cheese grater??? You’re right, it’s wonderful! Thank you so much! Can’t wait to meet the newest Baby Z!

  5. Rusty

    There are 52 basic cooking skills?! I give up.

Leave a Reply

