Four Jabberwocks

I read Lewis Carroll’s poem “Jabberwocky” to the kids this morning and asked them to tell me what the beast looked like. Ethan said it had a big head and fire in its purple eyes. Sam said it had horns and sixteen eyes. Josh said it was brown with square legs and feet.

I took full advantage of the moment to tell them that this was a perfect illustration of the power of imagination, and the beauty of books. I said, “See how many Jabberwocks are in this room? FIVE different Jabberwocks! One in each of our heads!” I opined about how if we had seen a movie about the Jabberwock, we would only have one creature to look at — the one on the screen. I waxed eloquent.

Then I said, “Ellie, tell us about your Jabberwock!”

To which she replied: “I don’t want to talk about the Jabberwock. I don’t like him.”

Oh. Ok. Um…moving on.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Four Jabberwocks

  1. So cool. Ellie is very smart.

  2. Rusty

    I never liked him either.

Leave a Reply

