Tidbits

1. Tonight was Pinewood Derby night at Awana! The boys had a lot of fun. They didn’t win, but they did do almost all the work on the cars themselves. The only thing Daddy helped with involved a sharp saw, but sanding, painting and decorating was all theirs. A good time was had by all! (And I remember that track being so much bigger when I was in Awana…)

photo 1 (1) photo 2 photo 3 photo 4

2. I love these boots. They’re all stained and dirty and warm and tough. Perfect country boots.

photo 2 (6)

3. There was so much traffic trying to get to the grocery store the other morning! FOUR cars in front of us waiting for the train. We had to wait and wait.

photo 1 (8)

4. We got this cool new attachment for the tractor. It’s a post-hole digger. It makes putting up fences so much easier! But it’s kind of scary watching it tear into the ground, and there are little warning (!) pictures of stick-men getting wrapped around the blade. (shudder)

photo 2 (1)

5. April 23. It snowed this morning. The first time it snowed this spring, I was kind of mad. The second time, I just felt despair. But today, I knew it would burn off by afternoon, and sure enough, the kids were out in the sunshine in t-shirts looking at the beautiful rainbow by 2pm. The clouds were smeared all over the field when we drove into town:

photo 1

6. I love this thing. It’s a pellet stove, but we’re actually burning wheat in it right now, which smells neat. Kind of a woody, burnt smell coming out the chimney. It’s so nice having warm fires around the house.

photo

7. I got off of Facebook a couple of months ago. I really miss seeing all the pictures of friends, but I can’t believe how many books I’ve read since then! I didn’t realize how much of my “in between” time was being spent scrolling through updates. It was the easy, break-for-my-brain thing to do, and wading through a book usually didn’t compete. The first few days without it were a slight adjustment, since it wasn’t there to entertain, but now it’s become quite natural to grab whatever book I’m reading whenever I have a few minutes to sit. The minutes and pages really add up! I’ve read:

– Classical Education Made Approachable (Classical Conversations)
– What’s it like to be Married to Me? (Linda Dillow)
– War of Words (Paul David Tripp)
– An Echo in Celebration (Leigh Bortins)

And largeĀ parts of:

– Not a Fan (Kyle Idleman)
– Everyday Worship (Trisha Wilkerson)
– Recovering the Lost Tools of Learning (Doug Wilson)

And Ethan and I are almost through “The Princess and the Goblins” by George MacDonald.

Seriously. Worth it.

But also, please send me pictures of your families…

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Tidbits

  1. Pine wood derbies sure bring back memories of our boys when they were little. I like your boys cars. Very creative and unique. We found a banana shaped car seemed to go the fastest when we were doing the pine wood derby thing. Is life hard out there in the country?

Leave a Reply

