Good Scare

I was driving along the road toward home the other day when one of the kids asked how far the sun was from the earth. And I replied the standard “I think it’s about 93 million miles.” And as we all drove on, thinking about that, it just started to sink in for me how big that distance is. And I started to think about what the sun is, and how it’s so much bigger than the earth, and how our sun and earth and lots of other planets are inside a galaxy, and that there are (supposedly) millions of galaxies besides ours.

And then it just kind of hit me that God made all that. (I know that probably sounds silly! But sometimes you can know things for a long time and not really feel them.) I felt an actual shiver of fear run down my spine at the idea that there is a Living Being capable of doing that, and that I can’t even begin to comprehend that kind of power. And it was a good kind of fear, because I know this God is also kind and gentle.

I can understand how some people find it hard to believe any Person could have created such hugeness, combined with so much minute attention to detail. But if you believe God created the universe, it does sort of blow any limits to smithereens when it comes to anything else he might choose to do or not do.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Good Scare

  1. Jeanne Clark

    I shared this on Facebook. I hope you don’t mind. God is so amazing, and realizing just how amazing, well that takes your breath away.

  2. Tami

    I was just thinking the other day how I still cannot wrap my head around how BIG and MAJESTIC God really is.

Leave a Reply

