Tidbits

1. We’re adopting! Cats, that is. Two of them. We’ve been thinking about getting some outdoor kitties for awhile now (mostly because I like cats, and also because we hope they get the moles before the moles get the garden), and when I saw this guy in the paper last week it seemed right to start with him. He and his friend Turtle-Man will probably be renamed so we don’t confuse the dog, and because … what kind of name is Turtle-Man? The plan is to pick them up from the Animal Sanctuary this weekend if they’ve had their rabies shots and if Turtle-Man is over his cold.
IMG_6403

2. Vacation Bible School. Ethan and Sam had a great time at VBS in June. They brought home a CD of all the catchy songs they learned. Sam was being “too cool” to show Daddy the dance/motions they learned to go with them, but it was too much for him to sit back on the couch and watch Mommy pretend to do it right.
IMG_6368
While E and Sam were at VBS, Josh and Ellie and I hung around town and entertained ourselves.
IMG_6356 IMG_6358 IMG_6361

3. Beginner gardening. This corner was a patch of weeds. I’m going to try to turn it into an herb garden. Stay tuned.
IMG_6439
We have some blue corn growing!
IMG_6441
But it’s a good thing The Girls think weeds are the most wonderful thing on earth, because that’s what our garden grows best:
IMG_6398

4. Ethan made a boat. It actually works too. That little blue fan propels it across the water. Good job, E!
IMG_6392 IMG_6394

5. I like colorful food. No, that isn’t one of “our” chickens. And no, we didn’t grow any of the veggies or berries. Our raspberries are just about to explode though, and I think we’re going to have more than we know what to do with. Any ideas on how to preserve them, other than jam?
IMG_6410

6. Speaking of berries, we bought two big boxes of garden strawberries from our neighbor. We had so many I let the kids have a whole box to themselves. They were overjoyed, and couldn’t finish it. We made the rest into a couple of pies.
IMG_6406 IMG_6420

7. Jackpot. I was talking with a friend yesterday and mentioned how when one of the kids leaves a door open on the Suburban, Mingo wins a lottery of old fries and half-eaten sandwiches and stuff. It’s disgusting to think of him in there gobbling it all up, so I don’t officially condone it, but secretly, inside, I’m kind of glad I don’t have to clean up whatever he consumes. And my friend giggled and said, “Yes, well, my dog always gets very confused when guests are over and I scold him for licking the silverware that’s about to go in the dishwasher.” We share our shame.
IMG_6434

8. The kids loved their birthday gifts from Grandpa Rusty. They got real bug marbles, scorpion necklaces, and geodes to crack open! If you’re looking for good gift ideas for young boys, here you go.
IMG_6422 IMG_6424 IMG_6432

 

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Tidbits

  1. Jeanne Clark

    I was just looking at bugs like that last night thinking about getting them for the kids for a homeschool project. I wonder where you Dad got them? I am going to have to ask him. Our first science unit is bugs. The kids are so excited. I love all your pictures and comments. Makes my day to read about your family and how everyone is doing.

  2. Rusty

    What were the geodes like?

  3. I was just wondering about how your raspberries were doing (remembering all of that work I watched you and Kerry doing while I was visiting, enjoying my coffee). I was picking our raspberries today, I have to go out every other day and pick them, we are up to our ears in them! I have been delivering them to neighbors and co-workers.
    As far as preserving them, I freeze them in a single layer on a cookie sheet and then bag them up. I figure I can bake with them, make jelly and smoothies as we need. I have also been shoving home made raspberry yogurt down Bills throat. Eat! EAT ALL THE RASPBERRIES! 🙂 I will send you the new raspberry cheesecake recipe I just tried last week.

  4. Tami

    Cats:) VBS what great memories. Sam getting to cool for the hand motions cracks me up. You show him Marsha! Great times with Ellie and Josh in town. Playing checkers is a great idea. What a great game to learn at a young age. Ethans boat is so cool. Strawberries are so good. We would often have strawberry short cake for dinner during strawberry season. Your left over raspberry’s would be great frozen. They are a great snack partially unthawed or you can use the frozen berries with milk and some sweetener in the blender for a summer treat in the winter. Can’t wait to see your herb garden!!

Leave a Reply

